Setting Language Goals

Annyeong Haseyo!

Hi, everyone, and welcome to my blog! My name is Jia Li (my Chinese name), and I am a native English speaker and avid language learner.

Not only am I a language learner, I’m a language enthusiast.  I absolutely adore languages and have an obsession with foreign cultures! I currently speak English of course, Mandarin Chinese at an Intermediate B2 Level, and Korean at an absolute beginner, or A1, level.

Another thing about me? I’m fifteen years old.

Which means, I’m still in school.  I will be going into my sophomore year of high school this Fall, which is in exactly one month and eight days.  Summer is coming to an end, and I am not where I’d like to be with my language goals and achievements.

With that being considered, I decided to start this blog.

Each day, I will post what I’ve done by 10:30 P.M. Central Time Zone.  This is to hold me accountable for the goals I set, which I will explain and lay out in just a few minutes.

I will also provide you all with tips on how you can learn languages on your own, as an adult or a teenager, and how you can overcome the obstacles that you will face along the way.

And what exactly gives me the honor and privilege of writing to you about how this thing called language learning is done?

Good question.  I’ve been learning Mandarin Chinese since the age of ten, meaning I have had nearly six years of experience learning a foreign language, on my own, as a teen and adolescent with absolutely no previous bilingual background.  I am now at an Intermediate B2 Level in proficiency, which is considered fluent by most (even Benny Lewis).

And I achieved this all on my own, having no teacher for three of those five years.

Now, I can hold hour-long conversations and keep the flow going, as well as listen and comprehend what the native speaker is saying to me.   I also was allowed to substitute my two years of foreign language (which was going to be Spanish) in high school for three years of dual credit Chinese, one of which I have already completed.

However, I don’t want to just stop at B2.  I want to go further until I reach what I consider fluency.

So, I have created this blog to hold me accountable for my “Fluent in a Month” project.

Basically, I am going to take my language learning journey month-by-month and according to my needs, strengths, and weaknesses of my different projects, will study to reach the fluency goals I’ve been striving for.

Now, without further ado, here are my language learning goals for Month 1 (July 12, 2017 to August 12, 2017).

Goals!

Chinese

  • I’m going to study for 3 hours MINIMUM each day
  • I’m going to have at least 2 professional Chinese lessons with my italki teachers a week
  • I’m going to journal once a week in ONLY Chinese and upload it to the blog

Korean

  • I’m going to study for 2 hours MINIMUM each day
  • I’m going to have at least 1 professional Korean lesson with one of my italki teachers a week

Resources!

Chinese

  • Yoyo Chinese
  • Italki
  • Memrise
  • New Practical Chinese Reader 3
  • Slow Chinese Podcast

Korean

  • “Essential Korean” by Living Language
  • Italki
  • Memrise
  • “Korean Verb Conjugation” by TTMIK
  • TTMIK Podcast

Back to Me!

I hope you all greatly enjoy seeing my document my experience as a language learner, old and new.  You can find any or all of my posts regarding my projects, progress, and daily blog post updates in the categories titled “Korean Project 2017” for Korean and “Chinese Project 2017” for Mandarin.

Thank you!
Jia Li

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Setting Language Goals

    1. Yes, for me that is the biggest struggle as well. You should read my blog post titled “Learning Chinese Characters” where I go over why learning to read them is more important than we think and different methods used on how to learn them 🙂 Thanks for commenting and following too!

      Like

      1. That’s awesome that you’re a teenage language learner as well! However I don’t have a twitter or Instagram account yet (personal or for business), but you can connect with me on Facebook. Just search for the username @thatkrazykorean or click the link in the About page 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

